Thursday, July 15, 2010

Muahahha!!! - Weekly BS list post or thoughts or whatever


Man, with the Ard Boyz not having missions yet, mixed with 3 end tournaments, this year is looking like a bunch of bunk. So much bunk, that winning one of them seems just meh. I hope the prizes are ok as the rumors are the guy who made the cool weapons is not making them this year. Most likely they will get something you can't fly with as usual. Oh well screw it, I am not going.

Here are some random lists. Here is my BA Templar Dual rock list. Just some nonsense that might work.

HQ: Librarian, Infernus Pistol, Shield, Preferred Enemy Power
HQ: Reclusiarch, Infernus Pistol
HQ: Honor Guard X 5, Jump Packs, Meltaguns X 3
Elites: Sanguinary Priest X 2, Infernus Pistol X 2, Power Weapon X 2
Elites: Assault Terminators X 5, Lightning Claws X 3, Th/SS X 2, LRC, MM
Elites: Assault Terminators X 5, Lightning Claws X 3, Th/SS X 2, LRC, MM
Troops: Ass Squad X 5, Razorback, TWL Lascannon or Ass Cannon
Troops: Ass Squad X 5, Razorback, TWL Lascannon or Ass Cannon
Troops: Ass Squad X 5, Razorback, TWL Lascannon or Ass Cannon
Troops: Ass Squad X 5, Razorback, TWL Lascannon or Ass Cannon
Heavy: Vindicator, Siege Shield
Heavy: Vindicator, Siege Shield

So yeah, a big ole assault fist coming at you. Most likely first assault will have 8 WS 5/Str 5 Preferred Enemy attacks plus 12 WS 4/Str 5 Preferred Enemy/Reroll wounds and then of course 6 Thunder hammer smacks. You go first, start on the board, go second reserve if need be. Not sure if it will be good but it is a thought.

I am thinking Logan Wing might be a good option for Ard boyz too. It has scoring, good assault unit, and massed ranged fire etc. And you will be immune to ML for the most part :) which is always good.

I am hoping to get some time to draw tomorrow so I can post something neat and new. Woot!

What are other people planning on playing at Ard Boyz? Anything interesting? I am thinking of always playing with 40 grey hunters. Just to play as many troops as I can :). It should be fun.

Basic Space Wolves

HQ: Wolf Lord, Thunder Wolf, Saga of the Bear, Thunder Hammer, Storm Shield, Runic Armor, Fenris Wolves X 2
HQ: Rune Priest, Living Lightning, JaWs
Troops: Grey Hunters X 10, Meltagun X 2, MoW, Power Weapon, Rhino
Troops: Grey Hunters X 10, Meltagun X 2, MoW, Power Weapon, Rhino
Troops: Grey Hunters X 10, Meltagun X 2, MoW, Power Weapon, Rhino
Troops: Grey Hunters X 9, Flamer, MoW, Power Weapon, Rhino
Heavy: Long Fangs X 6, ML X 3, HB X 2
Heavy: Long Fangs X 6, ML X 3, HB X 2

That sits right at 1500 points. You could always go with Warrior and Frost Axe. I think that brings you right at exactly 1500. It gives you solid troop options, some nice long ranged shooting, some anti troop as well as a good counter assault element designed to beat the crap out of stuff. I am finding extra wolves less and less exciting as losing them in an assault can mean you WL gets hit by a ton of run down wounds as he tries to break away.

This is a simple list that I think would be solid just about anywhere. Not a whole lot of tricks but has enough solid base that it can handle most things I would think at this level. To get it to 2000 I could look at adding two more WL and just go full balls to the walls. I know my Grey Hunters have some crazy wargear, but I just like being able to do stuff in assault. Assault just can win you the game outright and actually wipe an opponent out. So I just like it hah.

But yeah - Back to painting and doing some work work. Fun fun fun.

15 comments:

Skarvald the Troll-faced said...

I wish you luck, Goatboy! You are an inspiration! :) You should stop by my blog one day when I have some of my Thunderwolves finished. I'd love to read your opinion on them.

RealGenius said...

> HQ: Wolf Lord, Thunder Wolf, Saga of the Bear
> Thunder Hammer
>
>That sits right at 1500 points. You could always
>go with Bear and a Thunder Hammer.

Wait, what? He already has Bear and a TH. You mean Warrior Born and a Frost Axe?

Thomas aka Goatboy said...

Wrote it and then rewrote it and forgot to change that one part. I think Bear is better if he is just by himself.

100921197239888915118 said...

Hey, I have a question for you. Are you playing your Honor Guard with one of your HQs?

Christopher said...

Are you playing your Honor Guard with one of your HQ's or are you playing them as a separate unit? I'm rather curious.

Thomas aka Goatboy said...

They are not a retinue and can run independent so they are just extra guys/fodder for killing a big metal box of doom :).

Tyiwren said...

Interesting, I emailed GW about that very thing and after receiving their response I've been polling people who've been playing much, much longer than myself. Here's the email:

Christopher!

They are indeed both retinues! I hope this has helped my friend!

Thanks!

John Hollingsworth
Customer Service Specialist

Please do not delete previous email threads as this will help us serve you better!

Games Workshop
Customer Service

6211 East Holmes Road
Memphis, TN 38141

Games Workshop Customer Service is open:
Monday through Friday 9:30 AM to 6:00 PM CST
Contact info: 1-800-394-4263

custserv@games-workshop.com

Or visit us online at: www.games-workshop.com
-----Original Message-----
From: Christopher [mailto:xxxxxxxxxx@xxxxx.com]
Sent: Thursday, July 15, 2010 6:44 PM
To: US Customer Service
Subject: Warhammer 40k question

Hi, I tried to find the answer to this question in your FAQ, and by carefully reading the rulebook and codices. Do the command squads and
honor guard available for use in the Space Marines and Blood Angels codices count as retinues? If so, then they must be in a unit with the HQ that allowed their purchase. In the flavor text for both units it clearly states they are led by a Captain or officer, and in the Space Marine codex it calls both units retinues in the flavor text. Could you
please clarify this question, or direct me to a resource I can use to clarify it?

Thanks!

------ End of email ------

So the reason this comes up is I always interpreted it as the GW reply email confirmed, they they had to be played with the HQ that took them, but I played a game a few days ago with my Chaos Daemons against some BA with an honor guard and the ruling then was that they didn't. It had a big impact on the game as a whole. Also, this means that Mephiston and The Sanguinor could be played in a unit with their Honor Guard giving them a larger buffer before they're finally pulverized.

Thomas aka Goatboy said...

I don't have the codex in front of me, but can't Mephiston get an Honor Guard? If so then that would mean they are not a retinue because Mephiston can't join units. Not sure as i don't have the info in front of me.

Tyiwren said...

That's the tough question. Meph and Sanguinor are not IC's, but in the core rulebook it does say that IC's lose, flat out lose, their IC status when they take a retinue. It's a good tactical advantage in assaulting. The HQ section says that you make take 1 unit of Honor Guard for every HQ you take, but that they do not count against your HQ slots. Meph does not have a separately listed option, so would fall under the Honor Guard text.

Thomas aka Goatboy said...

But if they let Mephiston take one, he cannot join the Retinue as he is never an IC and can't lose that status, he is just infantry.

I have to read how it states, but I don't think the Honor guard states it has to be a Retinue, while the command squad does state it needs to be a retinue.

I don't have the codexes here so I can't look.

Tyiwren said...

You make the best argument. No where under the unit details does it list Command Squads or Honor Guard as retinues. Only in the flavor text is it said, or implied. The only other indicator that these units should be retinue is from the core rulebook itself. In the section about IC's and how they may join/leave/have retinues it says 'retinue', 'bodyguards', or similar. Literally, or similar. That's super vague, but could be used in this situation. Anyhow, thanks for your insight and baring with me. :)

Thomas aka Goatboy said...

No worries, doesn't one of the Spec Marine characters activate the Honor guard or something to have more then one? I don't remember.

Tyiwren said...

Calgar in the Space Marine codex may have may have 3 honor guard. It specifically states it under this entry in the codex. He's the only HQ I know of that may have multiple retinues. I've never seen a HQ that says it may not have a Command Squad or Honor Guard.

Thomas aka Goatboy said...

Since he can have 3, that would mean most likely they don't count as a retinue? Since who would they join? I mean he can't join all 3. Shit it means he would have a busy friday night date night with all those guys hahahahha.

Tyiwren said...

I think it means he's in a blob squad of flexible size since the Space Marine codex may purchase additional units, unlike BA whos is set to 5. Gogo super Calgar deathstar?